Callaloo juice and other challenges

20160301_071452

Happy new year!

I know, I know – I’m exactly two months too late. The intention, of course, was to begin blogging again on the 1st of the (then) new year. And the intention for about three months before the end of 2015 was to continue blogging. Every week I’d think “I should really do that” and then I’d go do something else.

But, here we are. It’s 2016!

I’ve been a little (okay, a lot) susceptible to the little unproductive voices in my head telling me that I’d write something tomorrow (I really believed them). But I’m happy to report that I’ve at least kept some of my resolutions for the year… or I’m still working on them (but these are year long goals so it’s okay). And to be fair, probably because I wanted to give myself a loophole, I didn’t actually make blogging regularly one of those resolutions.

Maybe that wasn’t such a good idea. Hmm…

Anyway, I’ve also been skiving off of committing to a healthy meal plan (which is perpetually etched on the mental list of Things I Should Really Do Sometime BUT is not an actual resolution either, in case anyone is counting) so I decided March would be the jump off point for what I hope is going to be the beginning of whole new way of eating. Or something very close.

So here’s my breakfast for day 1: callaloo (calaloo?) juice! I know, it’s Icky Green. But it wasn’t actually that bad. It’s callaloo/calaloo, green apple, cucumber, ginger, lemon and honey. It’s not my new favourite drink of all time but it’s not unbearable. I know, the jury is out on the benefits of juicing and green juices in particular. But I don’t usually eat breakfast so I figure it’s an improvement if not a panacea.

I’m giving myself a 30 day challenge so I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

And in the way of good behaviour, one tends to inspire another so I told those little voices to shove over and thought I’d blog thrice a week for the month of March. Maybe it’ll generate better writing habits (like: showing up).

One of the resolutions I mentioned involves watching 50 documentaries this year (I’m normally allergic to these so I might accidentally see one or two in a given year). I’m actually doing really well on it – 11 down already and I’ve discovered that documentaries are fun!

This year the focus is on challenges. I think I’ve spent a good few years trying to avoid challenges and actively (or rather, passively) seeking the path of least resistance and much comfort in my personal life. All the efforts and initiative are channeled into work. Well, I guess I’ve just had enough of that. The funny thing about the pursuit of comfort is that, for some of us at least, it’s not really as restful as you think it’s going to be. Not really. Maybe it’s cause you need really hard work before you can really enjoy your rest. And I don’t mean work work. I mean putting in hard work at your hobbies or your cause or volunteering or traveling or spending time with your family.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes.

Hope everyone else has had a good 2016 so far and you’re doing well on those resolutions 😉

 

Leave a Reply

