Shines the Beauty of My Darling

If I wanted
I could make pictures of night
the map of stars above the mass of water
the mass of water underneath the stars
the beauty of my beloved
like a flower bringing dawn light into dark.
Yes, if I wanted
I could close my eyes right now
and bring these things like life into my brain.
but new are these times
and no matter where I turn
like fierce revolt goes with me
like a kiss –
the revolt of Malaya
and Vietnam –
the revolt of India
and Africa –
like guardian.
like guardian at my side
is the fight for freedom –
and like teh whole world dancing
for liberation from the slave maker
shines the beauty of my darling in her laughing eyes

Martin Carter

Leave a Reply

