The Cute Kind

Maybe it’s cause I’m not much of a dog person but I’ve never understood why people ask “Ooh what kind?” when you say you have a dog (people never used to ask me what kind of cats I had – and we’ve kept more cats than dogs growing up). First off, I get annoyed because I can only name two or three breeds (since when did it become an imperative to know what breed a dog was?). Secondly, I’ve always only ever had what my mom calls “rice eaters” or “common breed”. I think “common breed” is kind of mean to call anyone and my dogs don’t eat rice so… To me, a dog is a dog is a dog. Some are fat and some are short and some only understand “Sit” when you’re holding something edible in your hand.

I can’t tell if that many people just take dog ownership too seriously and are just inches away from entering a Dog Show or if my pet theory (heh) that certain breeds have turned into brand names is correct and it’s some sort of weird status thing that I just don’t get.

Anyway, we just got some pups and will have to be giving away at least three of them so I’m getting the same question once again. Well, this time I know exactly what kind they are. They’re the cute kind.

2 thoughts on “The Cute Kind

Leave a Reply

