Hot enough for you?

Wiri Wiri Peppers

Very popular pepper. Very hot. 100% Guyanese.

It’s pronounced “wee-ree wee-ree” and it’s about 15 times hotter than a jalapeno. If you accidentally get some in your eye, I’m very sorry.

Pepper sauce is a very important condiment if you are me. I think I tried 3 or 4 different kinds of pepper sauce in Geneva with no luck. Some were too salty, some too sweet (Thai!) and none were hot enough. It was worse in college in South Hadley, Nowheresville (not actual name), Massachusetts: Tabasco Sauce. More like red salt water! Four years of Tabasco Sauce. If I never see another Tabasco sauce bottle again…

(- my international friends and I, nevertheless, always kept at least one of the two bottles in dining rooms, very proprietarily, on our table at mealtimes -)

I was ecstatic when I found “West Indian” hot sauce in the Bangladeshi supermarkets in East London – I took several bottles back to Geneva when I was done with the Master’s.

But the very best has always been right here in Guyana. You get great tasting pepper in supermarkets, on the street (with your green mango and salt), in the outdoor markets, from your garden… It’s a relief to live in a country where you don’t have to scrounge or make do with the second hand/processed/frozen, thawed, re-processed when it comes to one of the essentials!

4 thoughts on “Hot enough for you?

Leave a Reply

