Militant

Militant I am
Militantly I strive
I want to march in my revolution.
I want to march with my brothers and sisters
Revolution firing my song of freedom.
I want my blood to churn
Change! Change! Change!
March!

We are the army.
We are the people.
We are Guyana marching for change.
You and I are posterity
In our veins run atoms of gall.
Atoms of gall.

Cane-sugar’s ever running historic stream,
In history’s sad march
Was I ever a son of my land?
Now-

I want to clench the stain of my earth in my palms.
Seeds that I planted
For my child to nurture
Will shoot forth through my soil,
My earth.
My land.
My country.

By Mahadai Das

Leave a Reply

